• Year Levels 2–9
  • Curriculum ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, SA, TAS, VIC, WA
  • Subject Literacy
  • Resource Formats Print
  • Learning Focus Shared reading, Guided reading, Independent reading, Take-home reading

What it is

Featuring authors like Stu Duval, Diana Noonan, Jillian Sullivan, William Taylor, Tina Shaw, John Lockyer and Glynne MacLean, the Nitty Gritty collection introduces and develops critical literacy skills in learners from age 8-14.

How it helps


Strong age-relevant themes: Tap into maturing interests with themes relevant and of interest to middle and upper primary learners.

Engaging discussion prompts: Build skills in discussing author purpose, power of language, characterisation, bias, point of view and more.

Representative perspectives: Questioning, challenging and deconstructing texts is supported through different social and cultural perspectives.


Supported learning materials: Utilise a framework for learning objectives and assessment with a teacher’s resource book for each series.

Pre-reading and chapter discussion: Structure the development of peer-group analysis and critical literacy skills with discussion prompts.

Activities and assessment support: Extend learner understanding with extra activities, while blackline masters give educators access to relevant information to assess the understanding of texts.

What it includes

The Nitty Gritty series consists of 48 high-interest, levelled chapter books from acclaimed international authors along with teaching resources, assessment tools and discussion prompts.

Chapter Books

Series 0 | Ages 8-10

Nitty Gritty Level 0 Ages 8 10 Treetop Treasure Student Books

From Tom Bradley’s Big Noise in Town to Stu Duval’s much-loved Rat Island, the twelve books covered in Series 0 introduce learners to basic concepts of critical literacy and new mature themes.

Chapter Books

Series 1 | Ages 9-11

Nitty Gritty Level 1 Ages 9 11 Dark Stone Eye Student Books

From Scot Gardner’s Dark Stone Eye to Super Sister by Gary Cross, begin to expand your learners’ ability to deconstruct texts and analyse author intent.

Chapter Books

Series 2 | Ages 11-13

Nitty Gritty Level 2 Ages 11 13 Ride Of The Katipo Student Books

The twelve books within Series 2 further develop the maturity of themes covered within the Nitty Gritty series as well as expanding the complexity of language used.

Chapter Books

Series 3 | Ages 12-14

Nitty Gritty Level 3 Ages 12 14 Inside The Game Student Books

Dive into more complex issues and introduce larger discussions around bias, intent, structure and more as your students reach more sophisticated levels of critical literacy.

Samples & downloads

Look inside the latest resources from Nitty Gritty.

Contact Pearson

Get instant access to Pearson Diagnostic here.
Get instant access to Mathology TEACH here.

Your personal data will be processed by Pearson Australia
Group Pty Ltd in accordance with the Data Protection Act
and our privacy policy.