FT announces shortlist for 2009 sustainable banking awards

The Financial Times and IFC, a member of the World Bank Group, have announced the shortlists for the 2009 FT Sustainable Banking Awards. The Awards, now in their fourth year, were created to recognise banks and other financial institutions that have shown leadership and innovation in integrating social, environmental and corporate governance considerations into their operations.

The Awards have grown in popularity and this year the nominees were selected from among 165 entries from 117 institutions across 42 countries. Three categories - Achievement in Basic Needs Financing, Banking at the Bottom of the Pyramid, and Sustainable Investor of the Year - were open to non-banking financial institutions as well as banks.

The judging panel, which includes leading figures involved in sustainable finance and development, met last week at the Financial Times offices in London to agree on a short-list of five institutions for each category of award - except Emerging Markets Bank of the Year, where three banks were nominated for each regional sub-category. The nominees are as follows:

Sustainable Bank of the Year

  • Deutsche Bank, Germany
  • Grupo Santander Brasil
  • Industrial Bank, China
  • Standard Chartered, UK
  • Triodos Bank, Netherlands

Sustainable Emerging Markets Bank of the Year Africa/Middle East

  • Access Bank, Nigeria
  • Equity Bank, Kenya
  • Nedbank, South Africa

Sustainable Emerging Markets Bank of the Year Asia

  • ACLEDA Bank, Cambodia
  • Industrial Bank, China
  • YES Bank, India

Sustainable Emerging Markets Bank of the Year Eastern Europe

  • AccessBank, Azerbaijan
  • Center-Invest Bank, Russia
  • Industrial Development Bank of Turkey (TSKB)

Sustainable Emerging Markets Bank of the Year Latin America

  • Banco do Brasil
  • Banco Galicia, Argentina
  • Itau Unibanco, Brazil

Achievement in Basic Needs Financing

  • Acumen Fund, US
  • MicroEnsure, UK
  • ParaLife Group, Switzerland
  • Trust Bank, Ghana
  • Water Capital, Mexico

Banking at the Bottom of the Pyramid

  • ABN AMRO India
  • Bank of Kathmandu, Nepal
  • Opportunity International, UK
  • Root Capital, US
  • Wizzit, South Africa

Sustainable Investor of the Year

  • Actis, UK
  • Calvert Foundation, US
  • E+Co, US
  • Global Environment Fund, US
  • Pictet Asset Management, US

"The entries to this year's Awards were of particularly high quality, underlining the extent to which financial institutions are focusing on environmental, social and corporate governance considerations in these challenging times," said Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times. "We are especially pleased to see the growing global interest in these awards, reflecting the increasing importance of sustainability across all markets."

"The crisis has underscored the vital role of finance in economic growth and development, as well as the need to incorporate the principles of sustainability into business and banking models," said Lars Thunell, IFC Executive Vice President and CEO. "The high level of interest in this year's awards is an encouraging sign that commitment to sustainability remains strong in the financial community".

The judging panel that selected the nominees and will choose the award winners includes leading figures involved in sustainable finance and development:

  • John Willman, Former UK Business Editor, Financial Times (co-chair)
  • Rachel Kyte, Vice President, Business Advisory Services, IFC (co-chair)
  • David Harris, Manager, Responsible Investment, FTSE Group
  • Richard Laing, Chief Executive, CDC Group Ltd
  • Elizabeth Littlefield, CEO, Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP)
  • Herman Mulder, international sustainable development advisor
  • Tessa Tennant, Co-founder, Association for Sustainable and Responsible Investment in Asia (ASrIA)

Leading consultancy Sustainable Finance Ltd is technical advisor for the programme.

The winners of the awards will be announced at a special dinner at the Renaissance Chancery Court Hotel in London on 4 June 2008.

The awards dinner will conclude the 2009 FT/IFC Sustainable Banking Conference, a full-day gathering of major decision-makers, strategists and visionaries involved in sustainable finance. Confirmed speakers for the Sustainable Banking Conference include:

  • Fabio Barbosa, Chairman, Banco Real
  • Beet Heemskerk, Chairman, Rabobank International
  • Simon Zadek, CEO, AccountAbility
  • Alex Counts, President and CEO, Grameen Foundation
  • Prof Jules Pretty OBE, Professor of Environment and Society, University of Essex
  • Tom Scholar, Managing Director, International and Finance, HM Treasury
  • Lars Thunell, Executive Vice President and CEO, IFC

For further information, please contact:

Kristina Eriksson, Financial Times, +44 20 7873 4961 or kristina.eriksson@ft.com