Fourth annual National School Change awards

Presented to six U.S. schools for dramatic improvements in student outcomes. The award Includes $5,000 Grant, Local Awards Ceremony And Awards Presentation in NYC on July 17th.

NEW YORK, NY - Six schools across the U.S. have been chosen as winners of the Fourth Annual National School Change Award, which recognizes schools that have demonstrated significant change for the better. Fordham University Graduate School of Education, Pearson Education and the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) are joint sponsors of the Awards.

The winning schools are:

  • Hillcrest High School, Queens, NY
  • First Avenue Elementary School, Newark, NJ
  • Sussex Technical High School, Georgetown, DE
  • Havencroft Elementary School, Olathe, KS
  • John H. Williams Elementary School #5, Rochester, NY
  • North Twin Lakes Elementary School, Hialeah, FL (Miami)

The 2003 winners were chosen by a blue-ribbon committee from a pool of 72 nominees from 24 states. Each school had to meet at least 10 out of 16 criteria, demonstrating that they have experienced substantial change.

These school-wide changes, which are driven by the principals at their respective schools, must reflect sharp increases in student achievement as measured by both internal (portfolios, grades, etc.) and external (district, state or national exams/standards) evaluations. There must be documented increases in such criteria as high school graduation rates, college acceptances, job placements, etc., as well as school recognition and awards for improved performance.

"What we are most proud of is that over the course of the last four years, at least 250 schools from 39 different states have taken a serious look at themselves," said Lew Smith, Ed.D., Director of the School Change Awards and the Associate Dean for Program Development and Outreach at Fordham University's Graduate School of Education. "By recognizing where they were, where they are and where they're going, these schools will hopefully be armed with the knowledge and courage required to build better schools for tomorrow."

In addition to a $5,000 grant, the winning schools participate in an awards presentation held at Fordham's Lincoln Center campus in Manhattan on July 17. They will also take part in a major national research project focusing on school change, and the six principals are attending the National Principals Leadership Institute, held at Fordham in July, where they will share stories with school leaders from across the country.

National School Change Awards Co-sponsors

founded in 1865, is the professional organization for over 14,000 educational leaders across America and in many other countries. AASA's mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children.

The Fordham University Graduate School of Education
ranked in the top fifty in the nation, is recognized for its excellent degree programs, research endeavors, innovative initiatives, wide range of partnerships, and strong presence in both non-public and public schools.

Pearson Education,
Educating 100 million people worldwide, Pearson Education is the global leader in integrated educational publishing. With brands such as Pearson Prentice Hall, Pearson Scott Foresman, Pearson Longman, Pearson Digital Learning, and many others, Pearson Education provides quality professional development, content, assessment tools and educational services in all available media to a worldwide marketplace, spanning the learning continuum from birth through college and beyond. Pearson Education is part of Pearson (NYSE: PSO), the international media company, whose primary operations also include the Financial Times Group and the Penguin Group.

Further information

Pearson Education
Rod Granger

Ryan Thompson