Financial Times announces winners of FT World Telecommunications Awards

Special awards to mark 25 years of telecommunications innovation and 25th anniversary of FT World Telecommunications Conference

The Financial Times this week announced the winners of its World Telecommunications Awards, at a gala ceremony at The Great Hall, Lincoln's Inn, London.

The awards programme focuses specifically on the achievements of individuals and organisations within the telecommunications market, throughout the past 25 years. The ceremony was timed to coincide with the 25th anniversary of the FT's World Telecommunications Conference.

The judging panel included James Golob, MD and head of the European telecoms research team at Goldman Sachs, and John Carrington, a pioneer in innovation in both fixed and mobile telecommunications.

Over 250 attendees from the industry - including fixed and mobile telecom operators, service providers and handset manufacturers from across the globe - attended the event, which was hosted by Ben Hunt, editor of FT Digital Business. Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, delivered the welcome speech.

The award winners are:

  • FT Telecommunication Innovator Award: 25 years in telecommunications - for an organisation that has created a pivotal piece of technology that has changed the face of the telecoms market place over the past 25 years.
    Fixed Line Winner: KT Corp
    Wireless Winner: Nokia
  • 25 Years of Excellence Award - for an organisation that can demonstrate a proven ability over the past 25 years to consistently re-invent itself to ensure its place in the modern world. The winners must demonstrate consistently excellent customer service and a commitment to strengthening their economy both locally and globally.
    Fixed Line Winner: Telecom Italia
    Wireless Winner: Vodafone
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: 25 years in telecommunications - for the individual that has made a significant contribution to the global business community, through success, personal commitment, application and dedication.
    Winner: Dr Irwin Jacobs, chairman, QUALCOMM Inc
  • Lifetime Achievement Award for Transformational Innovation - for an individual that has been instrumental in creating and driving transformational innovation within the technology market
    Winner: Tim Berners-Lee, inventor of the World Wide Web

For further information, please contact:

Joanna Manning-Cooper, 020 7873 4447 or