Directorate changes

Pearson announces the appointment of Ken Hydon as chairman of its Audit Committee and of David Arculus as chairman of its Personnel Committee.

These appointments follow the retirement of Reuben Mark and Vernon Sankey as non-executive directors at Pearson's AGM.

Following these appointments, the membership of the committees will be:

Audit Committee: Ken Hydon (chairman), David Arculus, Patrick Cescau, Susan Fuhrman

Personnel Committee: David Arculus (chairman), Terry Burns, Rana Talwar.

For more information:

Luke Swanson/ Simon Mays-Smith/ Deborah Lincoln: + 44 (0)20 7010 2310

Note to editors:

Ken Hydon is a non-executive director of Tesco and Reckitt Benckiser. He was previously finance director of Vodafone and of subsidiaries of Racal Electronics, and financial controller at 3M.

David Arculus is a non-executive director of Telefonica and was chairman of O2 from 2004 until it was acquired by Telefonica earlier this year. His previous roles included chairman of Severn Trent, chairman of IPC Group, chief operating officer of United Business Media, group managing director of EMAP and non-executive director of Barclays.