New prize from Penguin South Africa

Penguin Group
Penguin Books (South Africa) has announced a new literary award for writers from the African continent. The Penguin Prize for African Writing will have two categories: a previously unpublished full-length work of adult fiction and one of non-fiction. The prize in each category will be 50 000 rand and a publishing contract with Penguin Books South Africa, with worldwide distribution via Penguin Group companies.

Read the press release

New Prize S.Africa
Penguin has also announced the launch of the Penguin African Writers Series, a list that will include, among others, some of the very best books from the iconic Heinemann African Writers Series, which was established in 1962, as well as new books from fresh African voices. The celebrated novelist Chinua Achebe, author of Things Fall Apart, will act as senior editorial advisor to the series.

See a list of the titles