Bringing the academic to EAP

This presentation discusses the need to provide more authentic course content and shares samples that will ensure that students are prepared to succeed in their content classes at English-speaking universities.

Time: 3:00pm PST / 5:00pm CST / 6:00pm EST

Many students believe they are ready for university studies after studying English in high school and language programs. Yet they find themselves struggling in an academic environment beyond the safe haven of the ESL classroom. This presentation discusses the need to provide more authentic course content and shares samples that will ensure that students are prepared to succeed in their content classes at English-speaking universities.

Time: 3:00pm PST / 5:00pm CST / 6:00pm EST

Presenter(s): Robyn Brinks Lockwood

Duration:

About Robyn Brinks Lockwood

Robyn Brinks Lockwood teaches courses in English listening, speaking, and writing for international graduate students. She is also the education coordinator of the American Language and Culture undergraduate summer program.

She is an active member of the international TESOL organization, serves as an ad hoc consultant for the Publishing Professional Council, and is a past chair of the Materials Writers Interest Section. She is a frequent presenter at TESOL regional and international conferences. Robyn has edited and written numerous textbooks, online courses, video programs, and teacher’s ancillaries for reading, writing, listening, and speaking English courses and TOEFL preparation.

Bartlomiej Janiak

More webinars in this series

Teach students to succeed at their jobs

Presenter: 
Robyn Brinks Lockwood

This presentation discusses what students need to succeed in the workplace and shares tips and activities teachers can use to prepare students for job search and professional success.

May 9, 2024
3:00pm PST / 5:00pm CST / 6:00pm EST

Explore the new Side by Side portal

Presenters: Bill Bliss

The session will focus on resources that create a fun and motivating learning environment and will feature some of students’ and teachers’ favorite multimedia course highlights, including raps, songs, videos, and cartoons.

May 23, 2024
12:00pm PST / 2:00pm CST / 3:00pm EST

Teaching intensive English with traditional and AI tools

Presenters: Ken Beatty

This presentation explores the challenges teachers face as they struggle to offer variety in intensive activities, balancing contact hours with time for learners to practice and grow with the tailored language they require.

May 30, 2024
2:00pm PST / 4:00pm CST / 5:00pm EST

Creating an optimal ecosystem for language learning

Presenters: Joan Saslow and Allen Ascher

In this presentation, co-authors and language specialists Joan Saslow and Allen Ascher will share techniques and choices that make the best use of class time in both face-to-face and hybrid ecosystems to support the development of communicative competence in students of all language levels.

June 6, 2024
2:00pm PST / 4:00pm CST / 5:00pm EST