xx Beck:Linux Kernel Internals B_p2, 2nd edition

  • Michael Beck
  • Harald Bohme
  • Mirko Dziadzka
  • Ulrich Kunitz
  • Robert Magnus
  • Dirk Verworner

Unfortunately, this item is not available in your country.


Since the introduction of Linix version 1.2 in March 1995, a worldwide community has evolved from programmers who were attracted by the reliability and flexibility of this completely free operating system. Now at version 2.0, Linux is no longer simply the operating system of choice for hackers, but is being successfully employed in commercial software development, by Internet providers and in research and teaching.

This book is written for anybody who wants to learn more about Linux. It explains the inner mechanisms of Linux from process scheduling to memory management and file systems, and will tell you all you need to know about the structure of the kernel, the heart of the Linux operating system.

This New Edition:
  • has been thoroughly updated throughout to cover Linux 2.0
  • shows you how the Linux operating system actually works so that you can start to program the Linux kernel for yourself
  • introduces the kernel sources and describes basic algorithms and data structures, such as scheduling and task structure
  • helps you to understand file systems, networking, and how systems boot

The accompanying CD-ROM contains Slackware distribution 3.1 together with its complete source code, the Linux kernel sources up to version 2.0.27, the PC speaker driver, and a wealth of documentation.


Table of contents

1. Linux - the operating system
2. Compiling the kernel
3. Introduction to the kernel
4. Memory management
5. Inter-process communication
6. The Linux file system
7. Device drivers under Linux
8. Network implementation
9. Modules and debugging

A: System Calls
B: Kernel-related commands
C: The Proc file system
D: The boot process
E: Useful kernel functions

For teachers

All the material you need to teach your courses.

Discover teaching material

Published by Addison-Wesley Professional (January 14th 1998) - Copyright © 1998