BTEC Higher Nationals

Recent articles

  • When to speak to us about your HTQ submission

    Higher Technical Qualifications (HTQs) are Level 4 and 5 Higher National qualifications, which have been approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships & Technical Education (IfATE).

    Pearson, as well as other institutions in England, submit qualifications to IfATE in cycles: the first focused on digital subjects and our HND in Computing (2022) was awarded HTQ status in that round.

    Higher education providers with and without validating powers can be involved in the approval and delivery of Higher Technical Qualifications. We’ve outlined when and how institutions can engage with us in this article, and the consent grid document.​

    Read more
  • What are Higher Technical Qualifications?

    Higher Technical Qualifications, or HTQs, are technical qualifications that are at the higher education level. The BTEC Higher Nationals qualifications (HNs), which are already developed in collaboration with industry, are submitted to be recognised by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IfATE) as Higher Technical Qualifications.

    Read more
  • Sustainability is education. Education is sustainability.

    Sustainability. It shouldn’t be a surprise that it’s one of the biggest buzzwords in today’s society. But it shouldn’t just be a buzzword, it should be a movement driven by individuals, organisations, governments and charities. There has been plenty written and presented about why sustainability is important - a plethora of resources can be found at the click of a button. So instead, let’s focus on what needs to be done to educate the workforce of today and tomorrow, and embed sustainable thinking into all corners of life. 

    Read more